Finding a New Digital Camera

I’m ready to buy a new digital camera, but with so many options out there, it’s hard for a end-user to know what to get. The important thing to remember is what features you personally need, and find the camera around that.

Deciding what you Need
How will you be using the camera? Are there any features you need specifically?

I wanted the camera to make juggling videos, and possibly some pro-atheism videos, so just about any camera would work. However, I was also interested in producing HD content, since Youtube now allows for it. It looks nice, and it is well worth the viewing.

Here is an example, this is RollingPhysics from Contact Juggling.org showing off his beautiful weather.

Finding What You WantA great camera at a great price.
I could tell you to shop around, but with sites like Newegg you don’t even have to leave the house. Click either Digital Camera or Camcorders, and then on the left you will find their advanced search options.

I chose “recording resolution: 1080i.” That was a mistake. Only one camera and it was $2,700. Once I scaled down to 720p I had a pretty good selection to root through, with plenty of user reviews. I landed on the Kodak EasyShare M1033.

Thanks to having a Best Buy gift card from work, I ended up going to a brick and mortar and picking it up, along with an 8GB SDHC card, which allows for 2 hours of video.

Video Testing
Readers to this site may have noticed there hasn’t been an update in awhile, some of you may know it was because of a flash flood caused by Hurricane Ike. Others may not. Regardless, I have furniture/computer/juggling equipment all over again and within the week a stable Internet connection. To test the camera, I decided to shoot some footage of the new apartment, it’s a little jerky, because I was cold, and you can really see how the quality changes between the light extremes.

Also, my ignorance with the new camera led this video to not be a Youtube HD video… maybe next time after I save it correctly.

Leave a Reply

